8th Edition Of CNN-IBN Indian Of The Year Announced

CNN-IBN Indian Of The Year 2013 Announced – Honouring India’s Iconic Achievers of 2013

CNN-IBN Indian Of The Year 2013
CNN-IBN Indian Of The Year 2013

New Delhi, December 6, 2013: CNN-IBN is back again with one of the biggest and the most credible awards in Indian media, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2013, in association with GMR, where the most inspirational faces of India in the present calendar year are recognized. Hindustan Times has been the Editorial partner of this initiative since the inception of this award in 2006.

2013 has been a significant year in the history of India and has given rise to a set of role models who have been true ambassadors of brand India. These iconic achievers who have contributed in strenthening the foundation of our society in their own way are chosen from five different categories: Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business and Public Service. The winners will be felicitated at a glittering ceremony to be held at Taj Palace, New Delhi on December 20, 2013.

The winners of ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year, 2013’ will be decided by a highly distinguished Jury panel comprising of personalities bestowed with the most prestigious Padma honours; former Attorney General of India Padma Vibhushan Soli Sorabjee (Jury Chairman), Padma Vibhushan Danseuse Dr. Sonal Mansingh, Padma Bhushan author Ramachandra Guha, Padma Bhushan Deepak Parekh (Chairman, HDFC), Padma Sri & 4-time National Award winner Actor Mohanlal V Nair, Padma Shri & Billiards Champion Geet Sethi and Padma Shri Kiran Karnik, the President of NASSCOM.

Instituted in 2006, CNN-IBN Indian of the Year has been the benchmark for credibility and excellence in media awards. The awards are held in high regard for precision, providing complete information about the process of nomination and selection of the final winners.

Over the years, the recipients of this prestigious award have included Prime Minister Manmohan Singh (2006), E Sreedharan (2007), G Madhavan Nair (2008), A R Rahman(2009), Bihar CM Nitish Kumar (2010), Anna Hazare (2011) and Indian Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand (2012).

Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, shares his views about the awards, saying, “Year after year ‘Indian of the Year’ is getting bigger and better. Today, it’s one of the most accredited awards in the industry. We are immensely proud to felicitate these role models of India for their contribution and achievements in their own respective fields.”

Don’t forget to tune in to CNN-IBN as the Nominees in different categories will be unveiled 9th December onwards.

Watch Nominee Specials – Dec 9-12 at 10 pm & Dec 13 at 10:30

Leave a Comment